Poster Party Partie Deux

Hi Brendan,

I had so much fun on Saturday at the Poster Party with you.  I think we did a pretty good job this year.  Your mom saved the day with the re-positional letters.  Not only where they better than drawing each letter by hand, we saved a lot of time.

I think my favorite decorations were the hamburger and fried stickers that you brought.  They were so cool!  I can’t wait to see the finished product at the pasta party on April 15th.

I can’t believe how many fellow DFMC runners know who you.  You are like a rock star!  So many people after the run were telling me to say “Hello” to Brendan for me.  I was able to talk to a few of them for a bit, and they were so happy to hear how well the past couple of months have gone for you.  At the time, I didn’t even know you have been removed from precautions; so even more great news.

Two of your biggest fans ask me about you every time I run into them.  They are Jan Ross and Jack Fultz.  Both work hard making the DFMC possible so people like us can team up for such an awesome event like the Boston Marathon (and to raise money to help doctors and scientist make cancer an endangered species!). Even with their busy schedule, they take the time to hear the stories and get know everyone involved, including you.

One of the many reason why I wanted to get involved with Dana-Farber was a night back in May 2010.  Nikki invited me to come to a Dana-Farber Leadership Council meeting hosted by Eaton Vance in Boston.  When I got there, I was given a name tag with a number on it.  The number represented which table I was to sit.  There were 6 tables.  Also attending the meeting were 6 Dana-Farber doctors leading various research initiatives.

I sat at my table with 9 others and the first doctor sat down and discussed who they were and what type of cancer research they were doing.  After 10 minutes we had an additional 10 minutes to ask any questions we wanted before a bell would ring and the doctors would rotate tables.

Time, money, ideas, politics, beliefs, egos, education all seem to be both roadblocks and catalysts for cancer research.  The one thing that was consistent with each doctor that spoke with us, was their commitment to their cause.  These people were the 1%.  Not the 1% percent that has been in the news lately over Wall St.  They was the gifted men and women who will discovery the next cancer treatment, vaccine and lifesaver.   But they realize that they can’t act alone.  They need 100% of us to be apart of the solution.

You are probably wondering how this all relates to you and the DFMC.  Brendan, you are the bright star in the sky leading us.  Your strength during your ordeal and willingness to share it with all of us makes me want work with Dana-Farber.  It empowers people like Jan, Jack and others to create opportunities like the DFMC.  It drives the doctors and scientists to find the answers to the why, what and how of cancers.

So buddy, shine on!

– Patrick

One comment

  1. Liz Pearson

    Patrick,
    That was so moving. I really, really love the way you write. Thank god for the Dr’s at DF and people like you who really care and make a difference in someones life. Brendan is a lucky kid to have people like you and Nikki on his team. Everyday I am so greatful for how well Brendan is doing. He stayed over on Sat. night and it was amazing to see how much he is growing up and to see him smiling and laughing and just being a kid. Not a kid with Cancer……I thank you with all my heart for being the wonderful, supportive friend you are to Brendan and his family….

    Liz

    Liz

Leave a Reply

