MRI Results

Thank you everyone asking about my MRI.  I finally got my results back on Friday.  The doctor said the good news is there were no stress fractures.   The pain I am getting is due to bursitis and tendonitis in my hip.  He said I will be able to run Boston, but should rest and strengthen the area after the marathon.  I was thinking to myself, no problem, triathlon training starts then and I can focus on my swimming and biking.  He also mentioned that I have some wear and tear in my joint and it may start becoming more a problem in future marathons.

I was supposed to wait for the green light from the doctor on the stress fractures before starting physical therapy (and returning to running) but I went ahead and scheduled my first appointment last Saturday.  They have begun an aggressive strengthening program.  One of the physical therapist suggested I not run for the next few weeks.  I told him that’s probably not going to happen.  He asked when I planned on running again.  I said, “Tomorrow”.  He then asked how far.  I replied, “22”.  He shook his head and said, “Runners!?!”.  Since that first meeting, they have had some revenge during their boot camp like sessions.  I don’t ever remember sweating that much during PT.

I still have pain in my hip and mid thigh, but Advil helps.  The next two weeks are the toughest part of my training, peaking on March 23 with a 23 mile run and a 60 mile week.  If I can get through it, it will be all down hill!  I have a solo 22 mile run tomorrow starting at BC and running to Natick and back.  I’m looking forward to it!

 

One comment

  1. Liz Pearson

    Hi Patrick, Sorry to hear about your pain. I had bursitis in my hip really bad a few years ago and a cortisone shot did the trick. It lasted for 6 months. It allowed the swelling to heal. Don’t know if that is an option for you, but thought I’d mention it.

    All my best for a speedy recovery, Liz

Leave a Reply

