My Week

Hi Brendan,

I finished my recovery week of short slow runs.  Now the real fun begins.  My mileage moves back into the 40s.  Today I had a 3 mile run at my training pace but I got to finish up my work out with strides.  Strides activate fast-twitch muscle fibers, improve coordination and leg turnover, and prep the body for speed.  I gradually accelerate over 100 meters until I reach 90 percent of all-out effort, then hold that effort for five-ten seconds, and smoothly decelerate.    It’s a lot of fun after weeks of slow running.

For the past month, on Tuesdays I have been doing hill workouts.  This week I bump it up to 8 miles.  I think I run some of it through the streets of Beacon Hill.  Mount Vernon St is a killer!  I will have to remember my heart rate monitor to see how high it peaks.

Wednesday, is a recovery run.  It will be an easy 5 miles.  If I can help it, I will skip any hills 🙂

I am looking forward to Thursday’s run.  It is 8 miles at my planned marathon pace of 7:55.  The course has some flats, rolling hills and a downhill last mile.  The weatherman is calling for some snow and rain but that’s ok.

Friday will be my rest day.  Last Friday I shoveled snow so it wasn’t exactly a rest day.  We will see how this one goes.

Saturday is my LSD (long slow distance) run of 14 miles.  It will also be my very first training run with the DFMC team.  It should be a good run.  I do not know many of the runners, so it will give me an opportunity to meet some other teammates.  I have no idea where we are running from (or to) but I have time to figure that out.

I will finish the week with a 4 mile recovery run in preparation another week.

So, that’s my week.  I know you have an exciting week planned too.  I can’t wait to hear all about it!

Patrick

2 comments

  1. Liz Pearson

    Hi Patrick,

    Love your posts. I think of you every morning getting out there and running for such a good cause (and Brendan!) ( I need to get off the couch)… lol

Leave a Reply

