Where’s my stuff?

I’ve definitely have been spoiled over the past month with unseasonable warm weather. I have been able to run in just shorts and a long sleeve running shirt. But today was a quick reminder that winter is right around the corner.

On the mornings that I run, the first thing I do is check the weather. Today it read 21F. I wasn’t prepared for this. I actually needed my winter gear. This wouldn’t be too big of a deal, except I didn’t know where everything was, it was 5 a.m. and did not want to wake the family, especially the baby who I just got back to sleep.

I looked in the many places I expected to find my running pants and jacket.  No luck. I then eyed the bins on the top shelf of my closet.  I tried to rummage through them without actually taking them down. Not a good idea. As I reached for the second bin, the first one began to fall.  Trying to catch it, I knocked the second in the process.  I desperately tried to stop both from falling.  I was able to save one of them, but the second fell with a loud boom. I froze for a moment expecting to hear the baby. No crying. I peeked out and see if anyone else was stirring.  Everyone was still asleep, which was good.  I started picking up the mess on the floor and end up find my running pants in the pile.

Next on my list was my jacket.  I’m assuming most people have one, maybe two places they store their coats.  Not me.  I have at four and my jacket wasn’t at any of them.  I looked at the clock and started to be concerned about the time I would have for my run.  I began to look at all the same places I did for my pants, knowing that I didn’t see the jacket the first time I looked but maybe magically it will appear.  I stood staring into my closet once again, and noticed amongst my row of dress shirts was my running jacket.  I don’t have time to try to figure out why I put it there and head downstairs to get my next two items.

My running hat in gloves were found in seconds because I knew actually were there were, but I can’t take credit for that organization.  My wife identified a draw that would be used for all hats, gloves and other wintery accessories. 

I was home free.  All I needed was a pair of socks…I don’t know what is about socks staying as pairs but they don’t at my house.  I must have 30 socks that don’t match.  I had a handful of running socks without a match.  One too big, one too small.  Another stretched out and the other to tight.  One fitted just for the left foot and another fitted just for the left foot and two more just for the left foot.  Is someone trying to tell me I have two left feet?  I looked sad group over and went with two lefts. 

Finally. I took one last look at the clock.  45 minutes!  I couldn’t believe it took that long (and I didn’t wake up the house).  I put on my running shoes and left for an abbreviated jaunt.

It was cold out but after my adventure looking for all my stuff, I was warm.  Feeling the cold on my exposed face and breathing in the frosty air brought made me reminisce on last year.  It was a good run, and worth all the effort this morning, but I think I will make a room in my closet just for my winter gear.  I think I’m going to need it.

Leave a Reply

