One Hot Day – April 19, 1976

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi Brendan,

I’m sure you must know by now but I’m meeting you and your family at Kiku Yama tonight.   I can’t wait.  I heard it’s the second time you have been there in a week.  Lucky you!

I hope today at the Jimmy Fund Clinic goes better for you.  I know the past few trips have been disappointing, but hopefully today is the day it all turns around.   What’s today’s Lego creation?    Do you think you will have enough time at the JFC to finish it?  If you do, bring it tonight so I can see it.

Jack Fultz got back to me yesterday with some advice and encouraging words to get me through my injury.   He recommended that I treat my adductor strain aggressively with all the modalities available; including a visit to a good sports physical therapist (my first appointment is Thursday).   My training for the next week or so will be aerobic activities and hopefully I can be symptom free soon so I can get a couple of runs in before the marathon.

I knew Jack won the 1976 Boston Marathon, but I didn’t know how historic that win turned out to be.  He was going to end up winning one of the hottest Boston marathons on record.   An hour before the race, the thermometer read 100 degrees in the sun.   Being concerned about the runners, the BAA placed a sign on the front of buses reading, “Hose the Runners”.    All along the route, spectators pulled out their garden hoses and sprayed the runners as the passed by.   They also handed out wedges of ice and buckets of water.  Anything they could do to cool the runners.

Jack ran smart letting the pack lead the beginning of the race.  He ran from one side of the street to the other, getting under every garden hose shower he encountered.   He watched runners falter one by one, a victim of their earlier quick pace.  At the half way point he saw the leader for the first time and he felt like he hadn’t started working yet.  He was in his zone.  When he took a right at the firehouse and started into hills, he pushed into second place.  By the time he was at the top of Heartbreak Hill, he held first place.

Jack joked with the photographers on the lead truck, as they struggled to figure out who was this runner.  They all expected Richard Mabuza of Swaziland to win the race and didn’t know who he was because his running number had washed away due to of all the water.  When he entered Kenmore Square, he was overjoyed knowing he was going to win.   Jack Fultz ran the race of his life and surprised everyone to win the Boston Marathon in the heat.

Boston Globe Article, April 20, 1976:
http://www.boston.com/sports/specials/marathon/articles/1976/04/20/04_08_06_marathon_page/

See you tonight!

-Patrick

RM: 0.0
WM: 2.0
TM: 352.0

4 comments

  1. Jack Fultz

    Thanks for posting my story of ’76 Patrick. It was a memorable day. I seem to no longer remember the workout I did two days ago but I’ll remember April 19, 1976 as long as I live:)

    Keep me posted on your adductor recovery – and best regards to Brendan too!

  2. Pingback: Yuck! | Dana-Farber Marathon Challenge 2012
  3. Pingback: Summertime | Dana-Farber Marathon Challenge 2012

Leave a Reply

